Forum upgrade and possible glitches

Any problems or suggestions regarding the forums or scripts, post them here.
User avatar
Jazzy
Devil's Advocate
Posts: 1933
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 06:06 pm
Gender: Female
Location: a g-orbital
Contact:

Forum upgrade and possible glitches

Post by Jazzy » 03 Dec 2009 06:24 pm

I've upgraded the forum to phpbb 3.0.6 today. It's a fairly big upgrade, and my FTP client has not been playing nicely (now there's an understatement; there were 250 files missing from the original upload), so there may well be glitches in it. Right now, I'm not going to play with forum settings because the backend's running too slowly, but later on I'll give you guys a list of new features in the upgrade which affect you.

Posting new topics, replying to topics, and sending and receiving PMs have been tested and are currently all fine. If there are any glitches, please post them here.

The Quick Reply box is now handled by the default installation and so looks different to how it used to; the most significant difference is that it's no longer opened by default. Do people want it open, or prefer it closed? Clicking the "Quick Reply" button will open up a box, on the same page, which acts as the old one did.

User avatar
Joey
Secret Ninja Mod
Posts: 1382
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 03:42 am
Gender: Female
Human Avatar: 166931
Location: Rose Town, Johto
Contact:

Re: Forum upgrade and possible glitches

Post by Joey » 03 Dec 2009 07:42 pm

I'm so used to having it open by default, but honestly, I'm ok with just having to click one more button. Like doing it for this post was fine.

As for glitches... um... see my post in the Raindance :D It occurs to me now that the upgrade might have caused it.

User avatar
Seerow
Posts: 2793
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 08:47 pm
Gender: Female
Human Avatar: 155383
Location: Mystery Island
Contact:

Re: Forum upgrade and possible glitches

Post by Seerow » 03 Dec 2009 08:36 pm

I was so confused before I read this thread. I went to go post and couldn't find the box to type in and thought I'd been logged out or something. It's just been default for so long I didn't even register the button to open it.

So yeah, I'd much prefer it to be open by default if that's possible!
Wanna donate towards my drink gallery, the Golden Goblet.

User avatar
Wingsrising
Posts: 2682
Joined: 18 Jan 2006 09:31 pm
Gender: Female
Human Avatar: 157670
Location: Iowa, USA, trying to stay warm

Re: Forum upgrade and possible glitches

Post by Wingsrising » 03 Dec 2009 09:58 pm

I vote open by default since that's how I usually reply.
Image

User avatar
AngharadTy
Zombie Queen
Posts: 5249
Joined: 08 Jan 2006 05:20 am
Gender: Female
Human Avatar: 89833
Location: Tyland
Contact:

Re: Forum upgrade and possible glitches

Post by AngharadTy » 03 Dec 2009 10:03 pm

One probably minor issue with the quick reply function is that it's the last element of the page to load. Although, if the page gets stuck loading something from a bad site, that could be bad, I suppose. But I went to post on the Subeta HA thread, and paged down, and went "buh, where is the button!" and while I was scratching my head, it finally (finally! after, like, two seconds! haha) appeared.

I usually use the quick reply, too. I don't mind pressing a button, though. As long as the button is there! ;D

Also, the signature position keeps creeping me out. It's different, yeah? I'm not crazy? I hope I'm not crazy. Things confuse me, though!

p.s.--just in case it seems like I'm complaining, I'm not! I like how it seems to have fixed that weird formatting thing we'd get when someone edited their post.
Image Image

User avatar
Jazzy
Devil's Advocate
Posts: 1933
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 06:06 pm
Gender: Female
Location: a g-orbital
Contact:

Re: Forum upgrade and possible glitches

Post by Jazzy » 03 Dec 2009 11:34 pm

The signature display is different, but I'm slightly ashamed to admit I don't remember how exactly it used to look, so I can't change it back. Does anyone else know?

I'm going to fiddle with Quick Reply to try and sort its display out tomorrow.

User avatar
AngharadTy
Zombie Queen
Posts: 5249
Joined: 08 Jan 2006 05:20 am
Gender: Female
Human Avatar: 89833
Location: Tyland
Contact:

Re: Forum upgrade and possible glitches

Post by AngharadTy » 04 Dec 2009 12:09 am

I think it was just under the text/post part, not the whole post + avatar section.

This topic won't mark as read! I keep reading it! Heh.
Image Image

User avatar
daisybell
Posts: 910
Joined: 07 Jan 2006 08:41 pm
Gender: Female
Location: In denial

Re: Forum upgrade and possible glitches

Post by daisybell » 04 Dec 2009 12:31 am

I think signatures weren't separated by a horizontal rule before? So that on short posts, they might be next to the bottom of the box with the av and other information about the poster, instead of being forced to be below it. They seem to take up more space now,, anyway.

I think I would prefer an already open Quick Reply, too.
Neopets wishlists: here

User avatar
EofS
Posts: 1741
Joined: 07 Jan 2006 09:16 pm
Gender: Female
Location: In your mind, eating the mental chocolate

Re: Forum upgrade and possible glitches

Post by EofS » 04 Dec 2009 12:33 am

I'm also in favour of an already open quick reply. And agreed with the others on sigs being only underneath the post part, not the sidebar. The forum feels very wide now, and I'm not sure if it's just that or not.

Not exactly related to the upgrade I guess, but this seems as good a place as any to put it (and I've logged off M$N so can't bug you there) - forum times are still in DST? I actually noticed this a few days ago, but don't remember it before then.
Image

User avatar
Jazzy
Devil's Advocate
Posts: 1933
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 06:06 pm
Gender: Female
Location: a g-orbital
Contact:

Re: Forum upgrade and possible glitches

Post by Jazzy » 04 Dec 2009 01:06 am

You set your own forum time - the forum's default is correct, but individual users define their own in the User Control Panel.

User avatar
Huggles
Feral Koala
Posts: 2508
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 03:56 am
Gender: Female

Re: Forum upgrade and possible glitches

Post by Huggles » 04 Dec 2009 04:10 am

I like not having the quick reply box open. I often find myself typing into it and then having to copy and paste my text over so I can have access to BB code and stuff.

And now I just noticed there's a button to click for the full version. That's better, but I think I'll still forget about it.

User avatar
Foghawk
Posts: 369
Joined: 03 Jun 2007 08:58 pm
Human Avatar: 254768
Location: a narrow dusty room
Contact:

Re: Forum upgrade and possible glitches

Post by Foghawk » 04 Dec 2009 04:43 am

I vote for default-open quick reply (and must, somewhat shamefully, admit that it is rather distracting to me that it is no longer centered). Residual open tab sez sigs were indeed under post and not post+sidebar.
Image

User avatar
EofS
Posts: 1741
Joined: 07 Jan 2006 09:16 pm
Gender: Female
Location: In your mind, eating the mental chocolate

Re: Forum upgrade and possible glitches

Post by EofS » 04 Dec 2009 12:21 pm

Jazzy wrote:You set your own forum time - the forum's default is correct, but individual users define their own in the User Control Panel.
Huh, so it is. I'm surprised to find that I bothered to put the forum into DST in the first place.
Image

User avatar
Jazzy
Devil's Advocate
Posts: 1933
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 06:06 pm
Gender: Female
Location: a g-orbital
Contact:

Post by Jazzy » 05 Dec 2009 03:07 am

Yeah, I'm slightly surprised that there's never been an option to just inherit the forum's time.

Progress so far:
- signatures are back under posts; let me know if the top margin is correct or they should be moved down or up
- quick reply is permanently open, having lost a lot of extraneous javascript junk. Clicking "full editor" still takes your current text into the proper editor.
- avatar boxes have been edited slightly but not significantly.

More to come, but for now I'm going to bed :)

User avatar
Foghawk
Posts: 369
Joined: 03 Jun 2007 08:58 pm
Human Avatar: 254768
Location: a narrow dusty room
Contact:

Post by Foghawk » 05 Dec 2009 05:34 am

As I recall, the signatures had about a 1em top margin. Thanks for taking the time to get everything into place! :D

(Edit: By the way, there seems to be a glitch - posts appear to be being entered without a default subject, which makes them display as just a blank line in the 'last post' front page link.)
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest